2,000 Guineas Stakes

Sea The Stars

The 2,000 Guineas Stakes is a Thoroughbred horse race that takes place annually in England. It's one of many major racing events held in Great Britain every year with over 200 years of history. The race is named after the size of the prize pool that used to be awarded, although the money involved is substantially higher these days. The founding of the 2,000 Guineas Stakes was heavily influenced by Sir Charles Bunbury in his role at the Jockey Club.

Race Details

The 2,000 Guineas Stakes is open to three year old Thoroughbreds, excluding geldings, and is run over exactly one mile (just over 1,600 meters). It takes place each year in either late April or early May on the Rowley Mile at Newmarket Racecourse, on a grass surface. It's a flat race, and the prize pool is currently £450,000 with the winner receiving over £200,000. It's the first leg of the UK Triple Crown and one of the five British Classics.

Sir Charles Bunbury & the 2,000 Guineas Stakes

The first 2,000 Guineas took place over 200 years ago in 1809. At the time, Sir Charles Bunbury was Steward of the Jockey Club and instrumental in organizing the race. Several years earlier, Bunbury had also played a part in establishing The Epsom Derby which had proved to be successful. Both the Derby and the 2,000 Guineas Stakes are still regarded today as among the biggest horse races in the world, and Bunbury holds an important status in the history of British Horse Racing. He later introduced the 1,000 Guineas Stakes (for fillies only): another of the five British Classics.

A horse named Wizard won the first 2,000 Guineas Stakes, ridden by the jockey Bill Clift. Interestingly, Clift also went on to win the first ever 1,000 Guineas Stakes as well. The early years of the race were dominated by three trainers (Robson, Boyce, and Edwards) who between them were responsible for well over half of the first 30 wins. Since then, the 2,000 Guineas Stakes has proved to be an incredibly competitive race and it's often very hard to pick out the winner. As mentioned, the race is the first leg of the UK Triple Crown, followed by the Epsom Derby and the St. Leger Stakes.

2,000 Guineas Stakes Records

A number of records associated with the 2,000 Guineas Stakes have been held for a very long time, and it's conceivable that some of them will never be broken. For example, the jockey with the most wins in this race is Jem Robinson who was victorious 9 times between 1825 and 1848. The trainer with the most wins is John Scott with 7 winners between 1842 and 1862. The record for the lowest number of runners is 2, set in 1829. The shortest priced winner ever was St Frusqin, who won in 1896 with odds of less than 1/10.

A more recent record was set in 2012 when Sue Magnier became the owner with the most wins in the 2,000 Guineas Stakes: Camelot being her seventh horse to win. The fastest winning time in the race was also relatively recent, set by Mister Baileys in 1994 at 1 minute 35.08 seconds.

The 2017 Guineas Stakes was run on May 6th, 2017 and was won by the horse, Churchhill. The win brought a total prize of £283,550. The horse was trained by Aidan O'Brien and the jockey was Ryan Moore. The 2018 2,000 Guineas is set to be run on May 5th.

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Disclaimer | Sitemap | Get Help

Copyright © 2018 GamblingSites.org. All Right Reserved.