St. Leger Stakes Horse Race

The St. Leger Stakes is a major horse race in Great Britain
that takes place annually in September. It’s the last of the
Triple Crown horse races to be run each year and is also run
over the longest distance. The St. Leger Stakes is one of the
oldest horse races in the world, dating back to the 18th
century. Although considered very prestigious, many owners
choose to leave their horses out of this tough race because of
the distance. Nonetheless, the race still attracts a high
standard of horse. More details on the St. Leger Stakes are
found below.

Race Details

The St. Leger Stakes takes place in September every year at
the Doncaster Racecourse in England. It’s a flat race on grass,
open to three-year-old Thoroughbreds. Geldings are excluded from
the race: only colts and fillies are allowed to enter. As
mentioned, it’s a long race and the official distance is 1 mile,
6 furlongs and 132 yards. This equates to 2937 meters, and the
St. Leger Stakes is over 2 furlongs longer than the
: the longest of the US Triple Crown races. The prize
pool is over £500,000, and the winner is awarded around

History of the St. Leger Stakes

The St. Leger Stakes was founded by Charles Watson-Wentworth,
the 2nd Marquess of Rockingham. It was his horse that won the
inaugural race in 1776. At that time, he had not named the horse
(it was later named Allabacullia) and had not formally named the
race either. It was suggested to the Marquess that the race
should be named the Rockingham Stakes after him. However, he
declined the suggestion and instead named it after Anthony St.
Leger: an army officer who had first proposed the idea of the

The race was originally run over a full two miles, held at
Cantley Common. It was moved to its current location after just
two years, but the distance was not cut until 1813. Not much has
changed since then. The race has been moved to different
locations on a few occasions, notably during the First World War
when it was switched to Newmarket and briefly renamed the
September Stakes. The event was cancelled in 1939 when the
Second World War broke out; between 1940 and 1945, it was
held at a variety of courses including Manchester Racecourse and
Thirsk Racecourse. 1939 remains the only year the race was not
run at all.

There are a number of other races held throughout the world
inspired by the St. Leger Stakes, which use the same name. These
include the Irish St. Leger, the French St. Leger, the New
Zealand St. Leger, and the VRC St. Leger.

Betting on the 2020 St. Leger Stakes

The St. Leger Stakes attracts a lot of interest from horse
racing bettors around the world, and there’s usually plenty of
speculation about which horse will win. Although there’s
usually ante-post (or futures) betting markets open well in
advance of the race, it’s usually best to wait until nearer the
time before placing any bets. In the run up to the 2020 St.
Leger Stakes, we will take a look at the runners and riders and
put up a betting preview on this page. Please check back a week
or two before the race.