Clint Capela Is Betting Favorite to Repeat as NBA’s Rebounding Leader

By in Sports on
3 Minute Read

Capela is the +150 betting favorite at online sportsbook Bovada with last season’s Defensive Player of the Year winner Rudy Gobert having the second shortest odds at +200. The recently-traded Jonas Valanciunas is third at +300, while Indiana’s All-Star big man Domantas Sabonis is fourth at +660 and Chicago’s Nikola Vucevic completes the Top 5 in the opening odds board at Bovada at +1200.

2020-21 NBA Rebounding Leader

Capela led the league in rebounds last season, and it wasn’t just that he came out of nowhere doing that. In the previous three campaigns, he ranked 10th, fifth, and second, before finally ascending to the top during the 2020-21 season as the NBA’s rebounds leader.

Since 1989, the league has seen one player led the league in rebounding in at least two consecutive seasons except in 1999, 2011, and 2017 when Chris Weeber, Kevin Love, and Hassan Whiteside didn’t repeat as rebounding leaders the following year. The last rebounding leader before Capella was Andre Drummond and he led the league in rebounding during the 2017, 2019, and 2020 seasons.

As for Capela, he is only 27 years old and is certainly not yet at the peak of his athletic prime. He was Atlanta’s defensive anchor and spark last season. And if the Hawks are to make another deep playoff run this year, they will need Capela to do what he did last season. So, that means he’ll have a good chance of repeating as rebounding champion—that is, if he stays healthy.

NBA’s Top Rebounders are Europeans

Gobert won the 2021 Defensive Player of the Year award for the third time in his career last season while also finishing second to Capela in rebounding. The Stifle Tower has ranked in the Top 5 in rebounding in four out of the last five seasons, including the last three. However, he hasn’t been able to win the rebounding title as he is more known as a shot-blocker and overall defender. He is once again the odds-on favorite to win the NBA’s Defensive Player of the Year award next season, currently at +300 on BetOnline.

Meanwhile, Valanciunas finished behind Capela and Gobert in rebounding last season and was in the Top 10 two seasons ago. Sabonis is a rising superstar who was fifth in rebounding last season and sixth two campaigns ago. He is also a longshot +10000 to win the NBA MVP award. Vucevic also ranked in the Top 10 in rebounds during the previous three seasons and is also a +25000 longshot to win MVP honors.

Moving down the Rebounding Leader odds board, Karl Anthony-Towns and Giannis Antetokounmpo are next at +1500. That gives us seven Europeans occupying the top spot in the Bovada leaderboard. Capela was the first European to win the NBA’s rebounding title last season and he most likely won’t be the last.

Steve Richardson

Steve Richardson started writing content online in 2013 and has yet to slow down. Since joining our team at, he has covered sports, casino news, gambling laws, and much more! ...

View all posts by Steve Richardson
Email the author at: [email protected]