Honors Handed out at 3rd Annual GPI American Poker Awards

By in Poker on

The Sofitel in Beverly Hills was the center of the poker world on Thursday night as some of the best and brightest were honored at the 3rd Annual GPI American Poker Awards. Let’s get right to it; below is the list of nominees and winners. In categories with multiple nominees, the winner is denoted in bold.

GPI Player of the Year

David Peters

GPI Female Player of the Year

Cate Hall

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mori Eskandani

Charitable Initiative of the Year

Dan Smith Charity Drive

PocketFives Legacy Award

Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy

The Hendon Mob Award

John Holley

Jury Prize

Matt Savage

Tournament Performance of the Year

Kristen Bicknell wins 2nd WSOP bracelet ($1,500 Bounty)

Ari Engel wins Aussie Millions

Maurice Hawkins wins WSOPC Cherokee, back-to-back WSOPC

Mike Sexton wins WPT Montreal

Moment of the Year

Griffin Benger’s AA vs William Kassouf’s KK showdown at the WSOP Main Event

Jason Mercier goes on heater: captures (2) WSOP bracelets and a 2nd in a week to secure WSOP PoY

David Peters needing 3rd at EPT Prague to win GPI PoY does exactly that and takes the title from Fedor Holz

Mike Sexton mounts unbelievable comeback to win his first WPT title at WPT Montreal

Breakout Performance of the Year

Ari Engel

Maurice Hawkins

Ankush Mandavia

Sam Soverel

Event of the Year

Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open

Super High Roller Bowl

WSOP Main Event

WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic

Mid-Major Circuit of the Year

Heartland Poker Tour (HPT)

Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC)

WPTDeepStacks (WPTDS)

Industry Person of the Year

Tony Burns (Seminole Hard Rock Tournament Director)

Jack Effel (WSOP VP Intl’ Poker Operations, WSOP Director)

Sean McCormack (ARIA Director of Poker Operations)

Matt Savage (WPT Executive Tour Director, TDA Founder)

Media Person of the Year

Lance Bradley

Sarah Herring

Joseph Stapleton

David Tuchman

Media Content of the Year

Bob, Charlie and a Life-Changing WSOP Main Event Journey (Lance Bradley, PocketFives)

Life’s a Gamble (Mike Sexton, D&B Poker)

Stu Ungar’s Last Chance Gone Wrong Documentary (Matthew Showell, PokerListings)

Jason Somerville provides live Aussie Millions coverage on his Twitch channel

Twitch Poker Streamer of the Year

Kevin Martin “kevinmartin987”

Jason Somerville “jcarverpoker“

Jaime Staples “pokerstaples”

Parker Talbot “tonkaaaaP”

Poker Podcast of the Year

Poker Life Podcast with Joe Ingram

Full Contact Poker with Daniel Negreanu

PokerNews Podcast

TwoPlusTwo Pokercast

For those that have followed these awards for the last couple years, you may notice several changes. Event of the Year had been split into two categories based on buy-in, but now all of them are lumped together (though there is a mid-major circuit category). Poker Presenter of the Year Award is gone because…who cares? Poker Innovation or Initiative of the Year has been eliminated, possibly because it’s hard to come up with enough nominees every year.

On the flipside, the evolution of poker, technology, and media was represented with two new cateogires: Twitch Poker Streamer of the Year and Poker Podcast of the Year. It wasn’t long ago these might have just been non-nominee categories (if at all), with just a single winner announced. Going forward, it will probably be difficult to narrow it down to a list of just four.

Guest Author

GamblingSites.org is happy to bring you this post courtesy of one of our special guest authors. ...

View all posts by Guest Author
Email the author at: [email protected]