Joe Ingles Favored to Win 2022 Sixth Man of the Year Award Over Jordan Clarkson

By in Sports on
3 Minute Read

Joe Ingles has opened as the slight odds-on favorite to win the 2022 Sixth Man of the Year award at online sportsbook BetOnline.

According to the bookmaker, the sweet-shooting Aussie is the +650 odds-on favorite win this season’s top bench player award. Last year’s winner and teammate Jordan Clarkson is just +50 back at +700. Atlanta’s Kevin Huerter, who was one of the breakout players of the 2021 NBA playoffs is a surprise third at +1200, while New York’s veteran superstar Derrick Rose is 4th at +1400.

Three players playing in new cities are tied for the fifth-best odds at +1800. These players are Toronto’s Goran Dragic, Washington’s Montrezl Harrell, and Brooklyn’s Patty Mills. Kendrick Nunn, who will also be playing for a new team in the Lakers is next at +2000.

But the story is Ingles who set several career-highs last season while helping the Jazz earn the league’s best record during the regular season.

First Utah Jazz Player to Win the Sixth Man of the Year Award

Last season, Jordan Clarkson won the NBA’s Sixth Man of the Year award, becoming the first player in Utah Jazz franchise history to do so. Clarkson watched Lou Williams open as the odds-on favorite to win a Sixth Man trophy for fourth time. But after a strong start, which saw him lead the Jazz bench in scoring at over 15 points per game, Clarkson took over as odds on favorite in January and never looked back.

As Clarkson continued to thrive in his role during the season, he became the runaway favorite to win the award and went as high as -1300 at the start of May. Ingles made a late push and went as short as an average of +140 while Clarkson faded to an average of -189 at the best NBA betting sites.

When the panel voted, Clarkson got 65 first-place votes, edging out Ingles who had 34, and New York’s Derrick Rose who had one to win the award. Clarkson finished the season averaging a career-high 18.4 points per game to lead all bench players in the NBA in scoring.

But Ingles Was the First Jazz Player to Hold the Sixth Man Trophy

While Clarkson became the first Utah player to win the Sixth Man award, it was Ingles who was the first Jazz player to hold the Sixth Man of the Year trophy since he was the one who presented the hardware to his teammate.

Although he looked happy in handing it over to Clarkson, Ingles would have most certainly been happier if he didn’t have to pass it on.

Well, this year could be the year for Ingles, at least that’s what the bookmakers at BetOnline believe at this stage of the season. It’s not even that Clarkson is expected to fade this season. But since the award was first given in 1983, only three players have won it in consecutive seasons. Lou Williams was the last to do it in 2018 and 2019.

The Utah Jazz have the sixth-shortest odds to win the 2022 NBA title at +1800 and the fourth-best odds to top the Western Conference at +800 via the BetOnline app. But if they are to win it all this season, they will need their super subs to produce like they did last season. If that happens, Ingles and Clarkson will likely go head to head in the Sixth Man of the Year voting, just as they are neck and neck right now in the odds boards.

You can place your bets to win 2022 Sixth Man of the Year at any of the top NBA betting sites.

Steve Richardson

Steve Richardson started writing content online in 2013 and has yet to slow down. Since joining our team at, he has covered sports, casino news, gambling laws, and much more! ...

View all posts by Steve Richardson
Email the author at: [email protected]